More IHS Resources

The International Headache Society (IHS) is the world's membership organisation for all whose professional commitment, whatever their discipline, is to helping people whose lives are affected by headache disorders.Visit the IHS website

Introduction

In the first edition of The International Classification of Headache Disorders there was no appendix. This time an appendix is added which, we hope, will be used in several ways.

The primary purpose of the appendix is to present research criteria for a number of novel entities that have not been sufficiently validated by research studies. However, the experience of the experts in the Headache Classification Subcommittee and publications of variable quality suggest that there are a number of diagnostic entitities that are believed to be real but for which further scientific evidence must be presented before they can be formally accepted. Therefore it is anticipated that a number of the disorders now in the appendix will move into the main body of the classification next time the classification is revised.

In a few places we present an alternative set of diagnostic criteria to those in the main body of the classification. This is again because clinical experience and a certain amount of published evidence suggest that this may be a good idea, but the subcommittee still does not feel that the evidence is sufficient to change the main classification. This is, for example, the case for the accompanying symptoms of migraine without aura. The alternative diagnostic criterion D in the appendix is easier both to understand and to apply, but not yet sufficiently validated.

Finally, the appendix is used as a first step in eliminating disorders included as diagnostic entities in the first edition because of tradition but for which sufficient evidence has still not been published.

Back

Top

 

Print

Einleitung

Die erste Auflage der Internationalen Klassifikation von Kopfschmerzerkrankungen enthielt noch keinen Anhang. Dieser Auflage wurde nun ein Anhang beigefügt, der auf verschiedenen Wegen genutzt werden soll.

Das primäre Ziel ist es, Forschungskriterien für eine Vielzahl neuer Kopfschmerzentitäten zur Verfügung zu stellen, die bisher durch wissenschaftliche Studien noch nicht ausreichend validiert sind. Sowohl die Erfahrung der Mitglieder des Kopfschmerzklassifikationskomitees als auch Veröffentlichungen unterschiedlicher Qualität legen die Existenz einer Reihe von diagnostischen Entitäten nahe, die als eigenständige Erkrankungen angesehen werden können, bei denen aber weitere wissenschaftlichen Beweise erbracht werden müssen, ehe sie formal akzeptiert werden können. Damit ist zu erwarten, dass ein Teil der diagnostischen Entitäten aus dem Anhang bei der nächsten Revision der Klassifikation in den Hauptteil übernommen werden kann.

An einigen Stellen finden sich im Anhang alternative diagnostische Kriterien zu im Hauptteil der Klassifikation aufgeführten Kopfschmerztypen. Dieses Vorgehen wurde immer dann gewählt, wenn klinische Erfahrungen und eine Reihe von Veröffentlichungen alternative Kriterien sinnvoll erscheinen lassen, die wissenschaftliche Beweislage jedoch als nicht ausreichend angesehen wurde, um eine Änderung im Hauptteil bereits tatsächlich zu vollziehen. Dies ist zum Beispiel bei den Begleitsymptomen der Migräne ohne Aura der Fall. Das alternative diagnostische Kriterium D im Anhang ist einfacher zu verstehen und anzuwenden, ist aber bis jetzt noch nicht ausreichend validiert.

Schließlich soll der Anhang als erster Schritt genutzt werden, um bestehende diagnostische Entitäten zu eliminieren, die lediglich aus traditionellen Gründen in die erste Auflage aufgenommen worden waren, für deren Existenz ein ausreichender wissenschaftlicher Nachweis aber noch immer nicht erbracht wurde.

Zurück

Top

 

Drucken